Confederation Of African Football Awards (CAF): Riyad Mahrez Wins African Player Of The Year + Full List Of Winners

The CAF Awards was held tonight at the International Conference Center, Abuja, Nigeria. It was hosted by Richard Mofe-Damijo (RMD) and Mimi Fawaz. Algeris’s Riyad Mahrez won the African player of the year.

LIVE: Glo/CAF Awards 2016

The night was hosted by RMD and Mimi Fawaz

Full list of winners:

National team of the year: Uganda

Women’s National Team of the year – Nigeria

Club of the year – Mamelodi Sundowns of South

Most Promising Talent – Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria and Manchester City)

Youth Player of the year – Alex Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Coach of the year – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Women’s Player of the year – Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Arsenal Ladies)

Referee of the year – Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)

Legend Award – Laurent Pokou (former player of Cote d’Ivoire), Emilienne Mbango (former player of Cameroon)

African player of the year (based in Africa) –

1st place: Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns)
2nd place: Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe and Mamelodi Sundowns)
3rd place: Rainford Kalaba (Zambia and TP Mazembe)

Team of the year: Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

Football Leader of the Year – Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

CAF Platinum Award – President Muhammadu Buhari

LIVE: Glo/CAF Awards 2016Riyad Mahrez is African player of the year

African player of the year – Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Leicester City)

2nd: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)
3rd: Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)

Congratulations to all the winners,

You May Also Like